Close Menu
Columbia Personal Injury Lawyer > Myrtle Beach Car Accident Lawyer

Myrtle Beach Car Accident Lawyer

Even the most careful of drivers could end up involved in a car accident at some point in their lives. Fortunately, in South Carolina, car accident victims are often able to recover compensation from the parties responsible for their collisions, obtaining reimbursement for medical bills, lost wages, vehicle repair or replacement costs, and even pain and suffering. Pursuing a car accident claim can, however, be complicated, so if you were hurt in a collision in South Carolina, consider reaching out to our dedicated Myrtle Beach car accident lawyer for help.

Car Insurance in South Carolina

Car insurance will likely play an important role in any claim you file after a traffic accident, so it’s a good idea to have a thorough understanding of South Carolina’s insurance laws. For instance, South Carolina adheres to a fault-based system when it comes to financial responsibility for car accidents. Basically, this means that the person who is at fault for causing a car accident will also be responsible for any resulting harm, like medical bills, lost wages, and property damage.

Under state law, South Carolina drivers must carry liability auto insurance of at least:

  • $25,000 for the bodily injury or death of one person;
  • $50,000 for total bodily injury or death per accident; and
  • $25,000 for property damage per accident.

These policies kick in when a policyholder causes an accident. Once these policy limits are exhausted, however, the at-fault party can be held personally liable for the remaining damages. In addition to liability insurance, drivers must also purchase uninsured motorist (UM) insurance to cover them in the event of a collision with a non-insured driver.

Car Accident Claim Filing Deadline

If an injured party seeks compensation from an at-fault driver by filing a claim with that person’s insurer and the damages exceed the limits of the negligent driver’s policy, then the victim may need to file a personal injury claim in court. There are, however, strict deadlines, known as statutes of limitations, with which plaintiffs must comply in these cases. In South Carolina, accident victims have three years from the date of their accident to seek compensation from the courts. This is true regardless of whether reimbursement is being sought for a physical injury, vehicle damage, or wrongful death. Plaintiffs who try to file their lawsuits after this time limit has passed will likely end up having their cases dismissed by the court.

Comparative Negligence in South Carolina

Another important car accident-related law that plaintiffs should be familiar with is the legal theory of comparative fault. Under this standard, injured parties who contribute to their own collisions in some way can still recover compensation. The amount they can recover from the person who was primarily at fault for the accident will, however, be reduced in proportion to their degree of fault in causing the accident. If the plaintiff’s level of fault ends up exceeding the defendant’s, then he or she will be barred from recovery.

Contact an Experienced Myrtle Beach Car Accident Lawyer

The dedicated legal team at the Stanley Law Group has over 60 years of experience helping car accident victims in South Carolina seek compensation for their losses. For help, reach out to our dedicated Myrtle Beach car accident lawyer at 803-799-4700 today.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn