Important Motorcycle Laws
Interested in riding your motorcycle in and around South Carolina? That’s great, but South Carolina has several laws that are specific to motorcyclists. Read on to find out what they are.
You Need a Specific License
Many states have laws specifying that motorcyclists carry a special license, and South Carolina is no exception. You must obtain a Class M license from the Department of Motor Vehicles. Those without a Class M license cannot operate motorcycles in South Carolina.
You Need to Follow Particular Traffic Laws
There are a myriad of traffic laws that apply to motorcyclists, in addition to the rules of the road that apply no matter what vehicle you may be driving. You can only ride while sitting on a permanent, regular seat. You can’t carry a passenger in a position that interferes with your control or view. A motorcycle can’t pass a vehicle in the same lane occupied by that vehicle, and you can’t ride between lanes or between adjacent rows of vehicles. If you are riding with others, you can only ride two bikes wide in a lane.
You Need a Roadworthy Motorcycle
There are several requirements for a motorcycle to meet the requirements of roadworthiness in South Carolina. Your motorcycle must have a rear view mirror with a reasonable view of that which is behind you. Your headlights must work and must be kept on. A passenger seat and footrests are required if carrying a passenger. Turn signals are not required, and handlebars have no height restriction. Modulated headlights, as well as radar detectors, are allowed. A muffler is not required either.
You Need to Wear Appropriate Safety Gear
South Carolina, like many states, has a helmet requirement, however, it only applies to certain age groups. Riders under the age of 21 must wear helmets. Riders over the age of 21 are not required to wear a helmet. Riders under the age of 21 must also wear appropriate eye protection unless the motorcycle is equipped with an approved windscreen. There are no other requirements for helmets or eye protection in South Carolina. However, it is always a good idea to wear a helmet.
You Need Adequate Insurance
South Carolina also has insurance requirements for motorcyclists. Motorcyclists must carry liability insurance. The minimums are as follows: bodily injury coverage should be at least $25,000 for each person injured and $50,000 for all persons injured in an accident. Property damage coverage should at least be $25,000. Check with your insurance company to see if you can get an insurance discount for taking a motorcycle safety class; you may be able to save some money on your insurance bill!
You Need a Good Attorney
Have you or someone you know been injured in a motorcycle accident? There are many considerations that make motorcycle accident cases different from other types of personal injury cases. Don’t hesitate to reach out to the skilled Columbia motorcycle accident attorneys at The Stanley Law Group for help. Call 803-799-4700 and set up a consultation today.