Switch to ADA Accessible Theme Close Menu
  • $11 Million Wrongful Death
  • $4.5 Million Motor Vehicle Accident
  • $4 Million Lottery Case Dispute
  • $3 Million Commercial Vehicle Accident
  • $1.45 Million Automobile Accident Crash
  • $1.25 Million Semi-Truck Accident Settlement
  • $1 Million Tractor Trailer Accident Case
  • $750k Slip-and-Fall Case
  • $1.87 Million Tractor Trailer Accident Case
  • $1.4 Million Car Accident Settlement
  • $1.315 Million Medical Malpractice
  • $1.05 Million Truck Accident Settlement
  • $1 Million Slip-And-Fall Settlement
  • $1 Million Medical Malpractice Settlement
  • $1.5 Million Car Accident Settlement
  • $1.3 Million Car Accident Settlement
  • $1.025 Million Dump Truck Accident Settlement
  • $1 Million Truck Accident Settlement
  • $850K Truck Accident Recovery
  • $750K Truck Accident Case
Columbia Personal Injury Lawyer > Blog > Car Accident > Frequently Asked Questions about Car Accidents

Frequently Asked Questions about Car Accidents


Have you or someone you know been in a car accident recently?  You may have a personal injury claim if so.  You probably have questions about your rights and options, so keep reading to discover some answers to the most frequently asked questions about automobile accidents in South Carolina:

Do I Have to Report it?

It depends on the circumstances.  In South Carolina, you must report accidents that were not investigated by a police officer if the accident resulted in bodily injury, death, or damage of $400 or more.  The state statute provides that a written report shall be made, and must also be accompanied by verification of the driver’s liability insurance coverage.  Other types of accidents in other circumstances need not be reported to the state.

What Kind of Insurance Coverage Must Be Carried?

In South Carolina, like many other states, there are minimum requirements for insurance policies on automobiles.  Drivers are required to carry no less than $25,000 for bodily injury or death of a single person in one accident, no less than $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people in one accident, and no less than $25,000 for injury and destruction of property of others in an accident.

How Long Do I Have to File a Claim?

South Carolina law provides a statute of limitations, or deadline before which you must bring your car accident related claim.  A case for personal injury must be started within three years of the accident in order for you to have a valid claim.  This is why it is important not to delay bringing your claim.  An attorney with experience in automobile accident claims can assist you in determining whether or not you have a valid claim.

How Do Car Accident Settlements Work?

Depending on the parties involved and the nature of the accident, the car accident settlement process might take many different forms.  There are, however, some common threads.  The process starts when you file a claim with the insurance company.  Then a claims adjuster investigates the incident and writes a report on it after reviewing everything submitted with your claim.  Then, the company generally makes a settlement offer.  There might be several offers flying back and forth between the parties.  If they are unable to come to an agreement, the claimant files a civil lawsuit in court.

What Types of Damages Might I Be Entitled to?

There are many different kinds of damages, or compensation, awarded in personal injury and automobile accident cases.  You may be able to claim economic damages, including compensation for car repairs, medical expenses, and the like.  You may also be able to claim non-economic damages like compensation for physical pain or loss of enjoyment of life. 

How Do I Find an Attorney?

Car accident cases can be complex, depending on the nature of the injuries and damages in the case.  In order to get the most out of your rights, contact an experienced Columbia car accident attorney at The Stanley Law Group.  Call 803-799-4700 and set up a consultation.




Facebook Twitter LinkedIn